The Board Development Academy is designed to meet the needs of local nonprofit board members — new, prospective, and existing members — and maximize their impact in serving our community. Participants in the eight-session program focus on specific topics related to board service, instruction which can be put to immediate use.

The Academy offers

  • exposure to practical knowledge and best practices that can be applied to strengthening the governance of nonprofit organizations
  • opportunities to connect with and learn from local experts in all aspects of nonprofit board service
  • opportunities to network and develop relationships with peers and others who are interested in board service in our community

Responding to requests from Consortium members, the Board Development Design Committee invested nearly two years creating a comprehensive curriculum. The Committee members also volunteered their time and considerable expertise to serve as faculty for the first Academy.

Who is Eligible?

  • Your board members.
  • Residents of Guilford County who you would like to recruit to your board.

Registration Fee

There is a $175 fee for participants who are affiliated with Consortium member organizations. This fee will be used defray a portion of food and materials expenses. The fee is $300 for those not affiliated with a Consortium member organization.

Scholarship consideration is available for those who can not otherwise afford to attend.

The next session of the Board Development Academy will be offered in Spring 2019. Please contact the Consortium if you are interested in the session or have a Board member who is interested.

Click each to see the Board Development Academy Graduates

Spring 2014 Board Development Academy Graduates

Graduates of the Spring 2014 Board Development Academy in alphabetical order: Katja Brown John Connor Isabel Gil Jacqueline Hamilton-Johnson Terri Johnson Kimberly Lewis Lilli Mann Diane Moore Heather Oakley Kyriah Shannon Portia Shipman James Slater Nicole Spivey Erica Vernon Irving Zavaleta-Jimenez

2013 Fall Board Development Academy Graduates

Graduates of the Fall 2013 Board Development Academy in alphabetical order: Jill Bailey Tony Casas Marina Castillo Andrea Cole Erica Curry Emily Ellis-Liang Maria Harkins Kathy Hinshaw James Kamara Jacqueline McCracken Carrie Myers Benita Neal Daintry O’Brien Neda Padilla Melanie Rodenbough Sangeetha Shivaji Johnette Walser Teresa Wellendorf

Spring 2013 Board Development Academy Graduates

Graduates of the Fall 2012 Board Development Academy in alphabetical order: Robyn Abdusamad Leland Baptist Robert “Houston” Core, Jr. Meghan Davis Kimberly Diop Donna Duffy Tom Ehlers David E. Haas Afrique Kilimanjaro Susan Mann Aashka Mehta Evelyn Morales Gale Murphy Kay Nicolls Mariana Pardy Jeffrey Parris Thessa Pickett Julie Richardson Carrie Sawulski Amy Strickland Alison…

2012 Fall Board Development Academy Graduates

Graduates of the Spring 2012 Board Development Academy in alphabetical order: Bryan Beasley Sadric Bonner Kevin Bullard Patricia Bush Pamela Cash,Theresa Crow Cathy Daniels-Lee Elaine Ernest Claudia Femenias Jessica Gourley Marshand Hager Marie Hopper Brandi Johnson Jim Kennedy Crystal Lee Samantha Lyons-Kittrell Jane Maydian Corliss McGinty Cecil Mills Robin Morgan Amanda Patty Jennifer Perry Pitts…